Ray J

Ray J is the stage name of William Ray Norwood, Jr. He was born on january 17, 1981 in McComb, Mississippi. At age eight, he began auditioning for and appearing in television commercials; he played the foster son in The Sinbad Show. Ray J was signed to Elektra Records in 1995 and recorded his debut album Everything You Want in 1996. The song peaked at number eighty-three in the United States and at number thirty-three in New Zealand. Ray J then released his sophomore album This Ain’t a Game in the summer of 2001. The album spawned one Top 40 hit single, peaking at #30 on the Billboard Hot 100 called “Wait a Minute”, featuring Lil’ Kim. He has since gone on to release three more albums, Raydiation in 2005, All I Feel in 2008 and For the Love of Ray J in 2009. He has also appeared in several movies which include “Mars Attacks!”, “Steel” and “Christmas at Water’s Edge”. He has also appeared in television shows such as “Moesha”, “One on One” and “For the Love of Ray J”. In 2007, a sex tape was released of Ray J and his girlfriend at the time,Kim Kardashian. On March 10, 2008, Ray J appeared on the Tyra Banks Show to discuss the tape.

John Mayer

John Mayer was born on October 16, 1977 in Bridgeport, Connecticut. He grew up in nearby Fairfield, the second of three children born to Richard and Margaret Mayer. After watching the Marty McFly character’s guitar performance in Back to the Future, he became fascinated with the instrument. Mayer became consumed with playing the guitar, and after two years of practice, he started playing at blues bars and other venues in the area, while in high school. Mayer’s reputation began to build, and a March 2000 appearance at South by Southwest,brought him to the attention of label, Aware Records. In 2001, he released “Room for Squares”, which reached number nine on the American Billboard 200 albums chart. By the end of 2002, Room for Squares had spawned several radio hits, including “No Such Thing,” “Your Body Is a Wonderland,” and “Why Georgia”. He has since released two more albums, Heavier Things in 2003 and Continuum in 2006. At the 49th Annual Grammy Awards in 2007 Mayer won Best Pop Vocal Album for Continuum and Best Male Pop Vocal Performance for “Waiting on the World to Change”. He has since extended his professional pursuits to include stand-up comedy, design, and writing.

30 Seconds to Mars

30 Seconds to Mars is a rock band from Los Angeles, California, formed in 1998. It’s fronted by Jared Leto and includes Shannon Leto and Tomo Milicevic. On August 27, 2002 they released their self titled debut album through Virgin Records. The album produced two singles, “Capricorn (A Brand New Name)” and “Edge of the Earth.” Of the two, only the former charted, peaking at #31 on the U.S. Mainstream Rock chart. The album achieved a moderate success and sold around one hundred thousand copies. On August 30, 2005, they released their second album “A Beautiful Lie”. The album produced four singles, “Attack,” “The Kill (Bury Me),” “From Yesterday,” and “A Beautiful Lie”; three of the four songs managed to chart within the top thirty on the U.S. Modern Rock chart, with “The Kill” and “From Yesterday” both entering the top ten. It has since gone platinum. On August 31, 2006, the band won the MTV2 Award for “The Kill” at the MTV Video Music Awards. in August 2008, Virgin Records filed a $30 million lawsuit, claiming the band refused to deliver three albums as required by its contract. According to the lawsuit, the band “repudiated” a 1999 contract in July. On April 28th, they returned from EMI Records and the lawsuit was annulled.

Maroon 5

Maroon 5 is an American rock band formed in Los Angeles, California in 1994. It members consist of Adam Levine, James Valentine, Jesse Carmichael, Michael Madden and Matt Flynn. In 2002, they released their debut album entitled “Songs About Jane”. It peaked at number six on the Billoard 200 and has since gone on to become certified platinum four times over. On May 22, 2007, Maroon 5 released their sophomore album, It Won’t Be Soon Before Long. The album debuted at number one on the U.S. Billboard 200, selling almost a half million copies. It spawned five singles which include “If I Never See Your Face Again”, “Makes Me Wonder”, “Wake Up Call”, “Won’t Go Home Without You” and “Goodnight Goodnight”. Then in 2008 they released their third album, Call and Response: The Remix Album. It features remixes of hit singles and tracks from Maroon 5’s first two studio albums. Maroon 5 have sold over 10 million albums in the United States and nearly 15 million world wide. They have also received several awards which include Billboard Music Award for Digital Artist of the Year 2004, a Grammy Award in 2005 for Best New Artist and Billboard Music Award for Top Digital Album for “It Won’t Be Soon Before Long” in 2007.

Ray J, John Mayer, 30 Seconds to Mars, Maroon 5